Special Education

The Special Education program in the Northshore School District serves students from birth through twenty-one years of age. Children from birth through two years of age are served through contracts with community agencies. Instructional and support services are delivered by special education teachers, school psychologists, speech language pathologists, behavior specialists, occupational therapists, physical therapists, and educational assistants. In compliance with federal and state law, students with disabilities are served in the least restrictive environment to the maximum extent possible. All special education students at all district schools participate as appropriate in general education classrooms. Special education services include individualized specially-designed instruction in academic skills, adaptive skills (e.g. self-help; self-advocacy, community, independent living), communication and language skills, motor skills, social skills, behavior and vocational skills. An Individualized Education Program (IEP) is developed at least annually for each special education student, and goals and objectives (where appropriate) are written based upon formal and informal testing and on-going quantitative data.

The Northshore School District will make every effort to provide accessibility to events, meetings, and programs to individuals with disabilities. Please contact the building principal where the activity is occurring or Becky Anderson, ADA officer, at 425.408.7709, to request special accommodations.

 

Steps to Follow When You Have a Question or Concern

Parents who have questions or concerns about their student should first contact the special education teacher/case manager, general education teacher, and/or school therapist who works with their student. If the questions or concerns are not answered at that level the following list shows who to contact, and in which order:

  1. Start with the special education teacher/case manager, general education teacher, and/or school therapist
  2. If you feel concerns are not met, contact your school principal
  3. If you feel your concerns are not met, contact the:
    • Director of Early Childhood if the student is receiving early childhood services, Doreen Milburn (dmilburn@nsd.org) 425-408-5575.
    • Elementary Special Education Director, Kim Durkin (kdurkin@nsd.org) 425-408-7736, or the Elementary Special Education Assistant Director, Adra Davy (adavy@nsd.org) 425-408-7739, if the student is receiving services in grades K through 5;
    • Secondary Special Education Director, Julie Trembath Neuberger (jtrembathneuberger@nsd.org) 425-408-7735, or the Secondary Special Education Assistant Director, Shannon Phanhthavilay (sphanhthavilay@nsd.org) 425-408-7737, if the student is receiving services in grades 6 through age 21.
  4. If you feel concerns are not met, contact the appropriate Regional Assistant Superintendent:
    • North Region: Obadiah Dunham (odunham@nsd.org) 425-408-7715
    • South Region: Heather Miller (hmiller@nsd.org) 425-408-7704
    • East Region: Becky Anderson (banderson@nsd.org) 425-408-7708
    • West Region: Dave Wellington (dwellington@nsd.org) 425-408-7706

The Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) also has resources and venues to assist parents with questions and concerns. They can be found on their website: http://www.k12.wa.us/SpecialEd/Families/default.aspx. You can directly contact OSPI Special Education Parent Liaison Scott Raub at 360-725-6075.

 

Leadership

Director of Elementary Special Education
Kim Durkin
425-408-7736
kdurkin@nsd.org

Assistant Director of Elementary Special Education
Adra Davy
425-408-7739
adavy@nsd.org

Director of Secondary Special Education
Julie Trembath Neuberger
jtrembathneuberger@nsd.org
425-408-7735

Assistant Director of Secondary Special Education
Shannon Phanhthavilay
425-408-7737
sphanhthavilay@nsd.org

Contact Us

Phone Number

425-408-7733

Records Requests

425-408-7734

Fax

425-408-7740

Resources